Oromia Regional State Laws


The state of Oromia is one of the nine Ethiopia’s federating states. The state has legislative, executive and judiciary organs. The state’s highest law making organ is the House of Peoples Representative of Oromia, known as Caffee. The Caffee has a legislative mandate to enact Proclamations, known as Labsii, in matters reserved to the state in line with article 52 and 55 of Ethiopian Constitution. The state’s executive council also enacts Regulations, known as Dambiiwwan, to further implement Proclamations. In addition to this, Directives, known as Qajeelfamoota Raawwii, are enacted by Sectorial Bureaus, Commissions and Agencies of the state.

Article 5(3) of Ethiopian Constitution proclaims that federating states of Ethiopia may determine their working language through legislation. Accordingly, Afaan Oromoo is designated as the working language of Oromia State Government in accordance with article 5 of Oromia Constitution. Hence, court litigations are held in Afaan Oromoo language in Oromia state. Besides, except for the state’s proclamations (which are legislated in Afaan Oromoo, Amharic and English languages), regulations and directives are legislated in Afaan Oromoo language. The laws of the state are published on Magalata Oromiyaa.

These Oromia State proclamations, regulations and directives published on Magalata Oromiyaa along with the federal laws applicable throughout Ethiopia constitute the system of laws that are applicable in Oromia State.

We would strongly appreciate if you send us the laws of the state and related scholarly works via our address to help us complete the page.

To access and download these Oromia State laws follow the links below.





Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.