| FDRE Laws

Federal Laws


The federal government of Ethiopia has legislative, executive and judiciary organs. The federal government’s highest law making organ is Ethiopian House of Peoples Representative. The house has a legislative mandate to enact Proclamations on matters reserved for the federal government in chord with article 52 and 55 of Ethiopian Constitution. The Council of Ministers also enacts Regulations to further implement the Proclamations enacted by the House. In addition to this, Directives are enacted by the relevant Ministry, Commissions and Agencies of the federal government.

Currently, Amharic language is the sole working language of the Federal Government in accordance with article 5(2) of Ethiopian Constitution. Hence, Federal proclamations, regulations and directives are legislated in Amharic and English languages.

Federal proclamations, regulations and directives that are published on Federal Negarit Gazeta, along with the published decisions of the Federal Supreme Court Cassation Division (which is published in Amharic), constitute a system of laws that are applicable in Addis Ababa (Finfine) and Dire Dawa. Some of the laws; however, are applicable throughout Ethiopia where such legislative mandate is expressly given to the federal government by Ethiopian Constitution.

This webpage presents federal laws and policies. We would strongly appreciate if you send us federal laws and related scholarly works via our address to help us complete the page.

To access and download follow the links below: