EthioLex.Com | Tigray National Regional State Laws

Tigray Regional State Laws

The state of Tigray is one of the nine Ethiopia’s federating states. The state has legislative, executive and judiciary organs. The state’s highest law making organ is the House of Peoples Representative of Tigray. The House has a legislative mandate to enact Proclamations, known as Awaj, in matters reserved to the state in line with article 52 and 55 of Ethiopian Constitution. The state’s executive council also enacts Regulations, known as Dingage, to further implement Proclamations. In addition to this, Directives are enacted by Sectorial Bureaus, Commissions and Agencies of the state.

Article 5(3) of Ethiopian Constitution proclaims that federating states of Ethiopia may determine their working language through legislation. Accordingly, Tigrigna is designated as the working language of Tigray State Government in accordance with article 5 of Tigray Constitution. Hence, court litigations are held in Tigrigna language in Tigra state. Besides, the state’s proclamations, regulations and directives are legislated in Tigrigna language. The laws of the state are published on Negarit Gazeta Tigray.

These Tigray State proclamations, regulations and directives published on Negarit Gazeta Tigray, along with the federal laws applicable throughout Ethiopia, constitute the system of laws that are applicable in Tigray State.

We would strongly appreciate if you send us the laws of the state and related scholarly works via our address to help us complete the page.

Most of the laws of Tigray are consolidated into volumes are made more accessible. Follow the following links to access and download them.